Web Content Viewer

Ohio Guaranteed Transfer Pathways | Overview


Section 3333.16(D) of the Ohio Revised Code was signed into law in June of 2015. This law required the Chancellor of the Ohio Department of Higher Education to develop a process, by December 1, 2018, to establish statewide guaranteed transfer pathways from two-year to four-year degree programs in an equivalent field. This effort is directly related to Ohio’s initiatives in college affordability and degree completion. 

Ohio Guaranteed Transfer Pathways Statewide Steering Committee

In order to move forward with the development and implementation of guaranteed transfer pathways, a statewide steering committee for the Ohio Guaranteed Transfer Pathways was formed and oversees the progress. The steering committee is co-chaired by Dr. Randy Smith, Vice Provost for Academic Programs at The Ohio State University, Dr. Marcia Ballinger, President of Lorain County Community College, who represent the Ohio Articulation and Transfer Network Oversight Board. The committee members consist of representatives from:

  • Six regions including one member from a two-year college and another from a four-year university within each region: northeast, northwest, southeast, southwest, west, and central
  • The Ohio Association of Community Colleges
  • The Inter-University Council
  • Staff members from the Ohio Department of Higher Education and Ohio Articulation and Transfer Network.

Pathway Development Process

Guaranteed Transfer Pathways are being developed in clusters (meta-majors) with associated specific majors within each cluster. Approximately 50 major specific pathways fall under the clusters, but more may be added as the process moves along. The current clusters include:

  • Arts, Humanities, Communication, History, and Design
  • Business
  • Education
  • Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
  • Public Safety
  • Health Sciences
  • Social and Behavioral Sciences and Human Services

To facilitate the development of the guaranteed transfer pathways, cluster faculty panel members from all 36 public institutions of higher education are nominated by the public institutions of higher education.  Due to a number of potential majors within each cluster, the Cluster Faculty Panel members are individuals with curriculum or program authority for those majors.  The composition of each Cluster Faculty Panel includes:

  • Program Directors; Program Coordinators; Associate/Assistant Deans
  • Faculty representatives from the Ohio Mathematics Initiative
  • Additional faculty members as needed

Every two- and four-year institution is invited to participate, resulting in the formation of a guaranteed transfer pathway cluster network. The network representatives collaborate as a whole and coordinate the curriculum discussions at the individual campus level.  In addition, Ohio Mathematics Initiative faculty play an instrumental role in guiding each cluster panel in the exploration and implementation of mathematics pathways appropriate to the discipline.

Cluster Faculty Panel members use their program-level expertise to develop guided pathways that help students better navigate from an associate degree to a baccalaureate degree. Statewide institutional endorsement of each pathway is sought prior to implementation of each pathway, with a final approval from the Chancellor.

This work builds upon previous statewide transfer work, including but not limited to the Ohio Transfer 36 and Transfer Assurance Guides, through the examination of:

  • General Education courses
  • Pre-major/beginning major courses
  • Other major courses
  • Electives
  • Other requirements

To do this work, the panels:

  • Meet face-to-face
  • Participate in conference calls
  • Facilitate discussions and consult with faculty on individual campuses