Web Content Viewer

Industry-Recognized Credential Transfer Assurance Guides

ITAGs are a statewide transfer initiative that guarantees the award of college-level credit to students earning agreed upon industry-recognized credentials. The award of credit is based upon the knowledge, skills, and competencies gained through credential attainment regardless of where the learning to prepare for the credential took place.

Statewide panels are comprised of postsecondary faculty, industry representatives, and educators from either Ohio Technical Centers (OTCs) and/or Secondary Career-Technical Centers. Each ITAG panel will work to align content from the specified credential to postsecondary learning outcomes.  Each new ITAG will be sent to Ohio's public colleges and universities for feedback and endorsement prior to being announced.

In some instances, ITAGs will overlap with other transfer initiatives. This will expand access to other statewide transfer agreements (CTAGs, MTAGs, and TAGs) but not replace them.

Questions regarding ITAGs can be directed to Nikki Wearly, Director of Career-Technical Education Transfer Initiatives, at nwearly@highered.ohio.gov. Below is a current listing of approved ITAGs.

ITAG Guidance Document

This ITAG Guidance Document provides an overview of the pertinent details for all existing ITAGs, including credential information, student eligibility criteria, and verification instructions for each credential. More comprehensive information for each ITAG, including the course learning outcomes, can be found in the ITAG documents below.

Additional ITAGs Information

Engineering and Manufacturing

Electrical Engineering Technology: Programmable Logic Controllers (Siemens SCE Certificate in Automation and Certificate in Advanced Automation; Rockwell Automation Studio 500 Logix Programming Certificate; Mitsubishi Electric PLC & HMI)

Mechanical Engineering Technology: Computer Aided Drafting/Design (Autodesk Certified Associate or Professional; SOLIDWORKS Associate or Professional)


Practical Nursing

Informational Technology and Cybersecurity

Information Technology: Security+ (CompTIA Security+​​​​​​)

Information Technology: Networking (Cisco Certified Network Associate and Cisco Certified Technician)


Air Transportation: Private Pilot Flight Instruction (FAA Private Pilot-Airplane License)

Automotive Service and Repair (ASE Automobile & Light Truck Certification)


Safety and Sanitation (ServSafe® Manager​​​​​​)

Air Transportation: Uncrewed Aircraft Systems (sUAS Safety Certification Level 1)

Credit for Prior Learning for Additional Credentials

In addition to the credentials listed here, ODHE has partnered with faculty experts to provide guidance for awarding credit for prior learning for select industry-recognized credentials that fall outside the scope of ITAGs. The guidance document for those credentials can be found on this page.