Web Content Viewer

One-Year Option: Educators

What is the One-Year Option?

The One-Year Option was established by House Bill 59 and allows graduates from Ohio Technical Center 900 or greater hour programs to earn a block of technical credit toward an Associates of Technical Studies. The goal of this initiative is to create a statewide agreement for awarding technical credit in addition to current statewide agreements such as Career-Technical Assurance Guides (CTAGs). In order to soundly affirm awarding a block of credit for the One-Year Option, four credit affirmation teams have been established in the following areas: Business and IT, Health, Services and Agriculture, and Trades. These teams are currently in the process of reviewing all applicable 900+ hour OTC programs. As teams finish reviewing the 900+ hour programs, the teams will review the applicable 600- 899 hour OTC programs.


Which programs are approved for the One-Year Option?

Please see below for links to templates that show the research and rationale for awarding a block of technical credit to the currently approved pathways.


Who was involved in the One-Year Option review process?

The Chancellor of the Ohio Department of Higher Education convened four credit affirmation teams (CATs) to conduct a peer review of programs and certifications for affirmation for a block of technical credit.  The CATs were organized by four discipline clusters: Health and Allied Health, Building and Industrial Technology, Business and Information Technology, and Services. CATs are working to affirm that programs over 900 hours, articulate to a block of 30 technical credit hours.  For programs between 600-899 hours, the teams are working to affirm a proportional amount of technical credit. Please see below for a list of credit affirmation team co-chairs and team members.

Additionally, prior to the review process, the Chancellor convened a broad group stakeholders to develop a system of articulation for the One Year Option that was presented in a report to the legislature called, “Getting to 30: Establishing a One Year Option Credit Articulation System for Ohio.” Further information on the development process and team members involved can be found under the "Process and Development Archive" tab. 

Credit Affirmation Teams

Business and Information Technology Team 

Scott Halm Co-Chair Associate Dean, Business/Information Technology Cuyahoga Community College 216-987-5020 scott.halm@tri-c.edu
Amy Leedy Co-Chair Adult Education Director Miami Valley Career Technology Center 937-854-6051 aleedy@mvctc.com
Daniel Deckler Member Interim Dean  University of Akron Wayne College 330-972-8940 dcd@uakron.edu
Carleen Dotson Member Information Technology Program Manager Tri-County Adult Career Center 740-753-5464 cdotson@tricountyhightech.com
Angelo Frole Member Dean, Business & Engineering Technologies Columbus State Community College 614-287-5020 afrole@cscc.edu
Jeanie Haapalainen Member Business Office Technologies/Medical Billing and Coding Instructor Ashland County West Holmes Career Center 419-289-3313 jjghaapalong@gmail.com
Fran Halder Member Assistant Dean Kent State University at Tuscarawas 330-308-7435 fhaldar@kent.edu
Tony Hills Member Computer Science Instructor Northwest State Community College 419-267-1354 thills@northweststate.edu
Larry Ray Member Department Chair/Associate Professor of Information Technology Stark State College 330-494-6170 ext. 4918 lray@starkstate.edu
Greg Timberlake Member Dean, Business, Industry & Technology North Central State College 419-775-4740 gtimberlake@ncstatecollege.edu
Tina Trombley Member Information Technology Programs Coordinator Career and Technology Education Centers of Licking County 740-364-2254 ttrombley@c-tec.edu

Health Team 

Emeline Kelly Co-Chair Manager of Nursing Education programs  Tri-Rivers Career Center  740-389-4681 ext. 514 ekelly@tririvers.com
Vicky Wood Co-Chair Vice President & Chief Academic Officer Marion Technical College 740-389-4636 woodv@mtc.edu
Chad Brown Co-Chair Provost & Executive Vice President Zane State College 740-588-1231 cbrown@zanestate.edu
Kelly Darney Co-Chair Adult Education Director Columbiana County Career & Technical Center 330-424-9561 ext. 146 kelly.darney@ccctc.k12.oh.us
Darline Foltz Member Educator of Health Information Systems Assistant Professor University of Cincinnati: Clermont College 513-732-5238 foltzda@ucmail.uc.edu
Jennifer Hall Member Associate Dean, Health & Public Safety Cincinnati State Technical and Community College 513-569-1297 jennifer.hall@cincinnatistate.edu
Stacy King Member Pharmacy Technician Program Manager Tri-County Adult Career Center 740-753-5464 tj_sfranks@seovec.org
Barbara Mikuszewski Member Associate Dean, Health Careers/Sciences Cuyahoga Community College 216-987-4497 barbara.mikuszewski@tri-c.edu
Deborah Neal Member Health Programs Administrator Scioto County Career Technical Center 740-259-5526 ext. 1113 deborah.neal@sciototech.org
Jami Nininger Member    Supervisor of Medical Programs Knox County Career Center 740-393-2933 ext. 1154 jnininger@knoxcc.org
Kathy Wilcox Member Dean, Health, Human, & Public Services Clark State Community College 937-328-6060 wilcoxk@clarkstate.edu

Services and Agriculture Team 

Dione De Mitro  Co-Chair Director of Student Success Lakeland Community College 440-525-7513 ddemitro@lakelandcc.edu
Carol Gittinger Co-Chair Adult Education Director Great Oaks Career Campuses 513-771-8881 GittingC@greatoaks.com
Pam Hunt Co-Chair Curriculum & Instruction- Manager Great Oaks Career Campuses 513-612-3608 huntp@greatoaks.com
Harry Snyder Co-Chair President/ CEO Great Oaks Career Campuses 513-612-5780 snyderh@greatoaks.com
Carissa Anderson Member Assistant Dean, Regional Higher Education  Ohio University 740-593-4768 andersc3@ohio.edu
Janeil Bernheisel Member Manager, Curriculum, Transfer and Articulation Sinclair Community College 937-512-3145 janeil.bernheisel@sinclair.edu
Linda Bumiller Member Adult Education Coordinator Miami Valley Career Technology Center 937-854-6057 lbumiller@mvctc.com
Kelly Herold Member Assistant to the Dean, Strategic Initiatives University of Akron 330-972-8832 kherold@uakron.edu
Stan Jones Member  Senior Faculty, Horticulture  Kent State University at Salem 330-332-0361 sjones34@kent.edu
Phyllis O'Connell Member Early Child Care Educator Polaris Career Center 440-891-7682


Trades Team (ongoing)

Barbara Wagner Co-Chair Adult Director Upper Valley Career Center 937-775-1078 wagnerb@uppervalleycc.org
Kelly Zelesnik Co-Chair Dean, Engineering and Information Technologies Lorain County Community College 440-366-7028 kzelesni@lorainccc.edu
John Buttelwerth Member Instructor Cincinnati State Technical and Community College 513-569-1758 john.buttelwerth@cincinnatistate.edu
Tim Conley Member Instructor, Welding Pickaway-Ross Career and Technology Center 740-772-4795 welddrtc@yahoo.com
Carl Hilgarth Member Professor and Department Chair, Engineering Technologies Shawnee State university 740-351-3595 chilgarth@shawnee.edu
Jeffrey Jones Member Diversified Industrial Trainer/Coordinator Ashland County West Holmes Career Center 419-512-2599 awhj_jjones@tccsa.net
Larraine Kapka Member Assistant Dean, Science, Mathematics and Engineering Sinclair Community College 937-512-4501 larraine.kapka@sinclair.edu
Andrew Milks Member Associate Professor, Engineering and Science Technology University of Akron 330-972-2449 amilks@uakron.edu
Mike Sizemore Member Supervisor, Construction Miami Valley Career Technology Center 937-854-8488 msizemore@mvctc.com
Brad Teeters Member Senior Instructor, Department of Engineering Technology Shawnee State University 740-351-3562 bteeters@shawnee.edu